Tion Wayne – Green With Envy; Album Review

Tion Wayne Green With Envy Album Review

The cover art of Tion Wayne’s debut studio album is in the House of Commons of the United Kingdom, a place where MPs consider and propose new laws, and can scrutinise government policies by asking ministers questions about current issues either in the Commons Chamber or in Committees.

The seating in the House of Commons is specific, as the Government sits on the benches to the right of and the official Opposition and MPs from other parties sit on the benches to the left of the Speaker.

The backdrop of the cover sports Tion’s friends and Edmonton based gang 3×3 on the left side of the Commons sporting their From the 9 green balaclava’s in which has been seen in such videos such as “Body” (Remix) and “Wow”. On the right of the commons sits an MP, two police officers, a judge, a news reporter, and members in black balaclavas – indicating enemies from rival areas as well as inside informants or snitches.

Tion draws the distinction of how the government and his opps are always against his people, hence meaning they are always at war – due to how they are “green with envy” – a phrase meaning extremely jealous. You can spot how, despite standing there not doing anything, the police and media are turned towards Tion due to his major limelight, wealth and how he made it out of the streets. On Ed Sheeran’s “Bad Habits” (Remix), Tion explains:

Feds havin’ nightmares when I got my ice
Girl up on my left side, girl up on my right (Mm-mm)
Six figure transfer when I cop my ride (Bow, bow, bow)
That’s why the opps them just wanna take my life


The tracklist for Tion Wayne’s debut studio album was released alongside the album reveal on social media on the 18th of August.

The project houses 21 features – from ArrDee, Edmonton Drill collective 3×3 members E1, Driller, and ZT, as well as NSG, D-Block Europe, RAYE, Afro B, Joe Black, Potter Payper, Rimzee, Scorcher. Grammy Award winning producer JAE5 is also credited as a feature on the fifteenth cut. He also enlists international artists such as Polo G, 6LACK and Davido – with Russ Millions, Bugzy Malone, Fivio Foreign, Buni and Darkoo all appearing on the “Body” (Remix).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Never Sleeps – Stay With You ft. Manse, DubVision & Afrojack

Mahalia – Whatever Simon Says